Amherst Media Annual Meeting

Please mark your calendars for the 46th Annual Meeting on Tuesday, December 7, 7:00-8:30 PM on Channel 12.

In 2010 Amherst Media established the Jean Haggerty award in honor of Jean’s lifetime dedication to community betterment and concern for those who have been denied an opportunity to be heard. 

Please tune-in and help us honor this year’s Jean Haggerty award winners, Dr. Carlie Tartakov and Dr. Gary Tartakov. We are celebrating them both, for their activism and shared passion for social justice and equity they have demonstrated over the years. Fostering a sense of community in all that they do together. 

Dr. Carlie Tartakov, is the recipient of numerous University and community awards throughout your career as an educator and activist, including induction into the Iowa African American Hall of Fame. A preeminent teacher and mentor, she began teaching in Pelham and Amherst school districts, and at Iowa State University developed the Kuumba Multicultural School of the Arts in 1997 which grew to partner with schools in California and South Africa. In retirement, for over ten years she has taught courses at the Sojourner Truth School for Social Change Leadership to support the next generation of leaders, and her award-winning “Black in the Valley” segments, at “WHMP Radio — Bill Newman Show,” has created multiple opportunities for others to raise their voices. 

Dr. Gary Tartakov, is one of the preeminent art historians of Dalit and Indian art and imagery connecting artistic expression to struggles for dignity and human rights around the world. HIS scholarly work such as Dalit Art and Imagery (2013) and Articulating Resistance: Art and Activism have examined how caste, art, and place shape not only Indian temple architecture but artistic expression interpreting the use of segregated spaces -- work which he continues to connect to the role of caste and oppression in the United States.

Protesting and advocating for human rights since the 1950s through the Civil Rights and anti-VietNam war movements, he demonstrated his solidarity locally by joining with the late Dr. Randolph Bromery, former chancellor of UMASS-Amherst, and others to bring about the first chapter of the NAACP. He served for many years as a Town Meeting member, and over the years his sharp analysis and wit have enlightened community members through several notable letters to the editor on race, education, and town priorities. The two scholarships named in your honor, the Design Scholarship and the Endowed Scholarship for Study Abroad at Iowa State University are testaments to his ability to inspire others through his teaching and scholarship. 

So now you know why we are celebrating them both, and introducing the newly nominated Board Directors. At the Annual Meeting you will also hear the latest news on our continued movement towards constructing our new facility- yes the one we bought land to build it on. There are new staff personnel and Amherst Weekly Report continues on. New podcast shows and much more like- Have you noticed our new logo and visited our updated web page? 

Thank you for renewing your membership, or if you haven’t- it’s never too late! If you’re not sure of your status give the office a call and we can give you an update. As always we are only as strong as our community partners. So spread the word by inviting your friends, acquaintances and colleagues to become involved. We are open to innovative thinkers and doers to help us achieve our mission. 


Jim Lescault 

Executive Director 
Amherst Media 


Meeting Information

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 835 9819 0178
One tap mobile
+13126266799,,83598190178# US (Chicago)
+16465588656,,83598190178# US (New York)

Dial by your location
        +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
        +1 646 558 8656 US (New York)
        +1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)
        +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)
        +1 669 900 9128 US (San Jose)
        +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
Meeting ID: 835 9819 0178